Wool Products

Norwegian wool is graded according to quality into 16 different grades.

The main grades are:

Grade A: White crossbred wool, full year growth 
Grade B: White crossbred and Norwegian spæl sheep wool, shorn in spring
Grade C: Crossbred wool, shorn in autumn
Grade F: Norwegian spæl sheep wool, shorn in autumn
Grade G: Cotted wool and very coarse wool
Grade H: Outsorted wool (wool from belly, thighs and tail)
Grade V: Wool with vegetable matter

Additional qualities such as bulk, fibre length, crimp, amount of medulla and animal hair, yield, lustre, color and cleanness are also evaluated.

The Norwegian Wool Standard can be downloaded below: 

» Norwegian Wool Standard (pdf)